Tuesday Inspiration

Standard

free printable source

In last week’s inspiration post, I wrote a little about the phrase “I don’t know how you do it.”  I thought I’d spend a few posts addressing that.  When someone is forming a goal, there are a few ways to go about it.  You’ve got the S.M.A.R.T. goals assessment, which I think has a lot of merit.  There’s also the “one goal” method, which feels like S.M.A.R.T. goals, all grown up.  

Before you can start either of those approaches, however, it’s important that you believe you can.  I know, this sounds so cheesy, but it’s that cheesy because it’s basic.  Belief is the foundation of any action you want to take.  If your goal is weight loss, and you start off by listening to the voice in your head reminding you of all your failures, you are certain to repeat the past.  If you set out to train for a marathon figuring you probably won’t finish, you’re done before you start.  

When I chose to do my 52 books/projects last year, I knew it was a big goal.  I really made the decision in early spring, and I was already behind.  I knew it would be work, but I also believed that the people raising their eyebrows were wrong.  

There are two quotes that I’ve come across as I’ve been thinking about this topic.  The first is from Sarah Silverman, who said ” Stop telling girls they can be anything they want when they grow up. I think it’s a mistake. Not because they can’t, but because it would have never occurred to them they couldn’t.”   The second came as I was watching the NFC playoff game, seeing Russell Wilson interviewed after.  He said the team started the season with the question “Why not us?” in mind.  

So, if you’ve got a big goal, silence the doubts, and assume you will succeed. Why not you? 

Leave a Reply

