Update: January 24

Standard

This week has been a good one for getting stuff done.   I’m going to apologize for the quality of these pictures up front.  I need to get used to my camera, and instagram is just faster.

Projects: This week, I managed to complete three.  The canvas above was completed with my kiddos. (Back story:  Every morning, I tell my son “work hard, be kind” as I drop him off at school.  We needed the quote at home, too.)  I need to incorporate the boys more into these projects.  At least once a month, I think.  We all love it, and I think it gives them a sense of pride to see what they’ve done.   I also completed two of the reversible cowls in the picture below: the turquoise one pictured, and another in black and white.  This takes me to 5/52 projects, and I’m excited to be ahead of the game.

Book:  This week, I finished listening to Neil Gaiman’s The Ocean at the End of the Lane.  Wow.  It’s so well done, I really recommend it, but not as bed time reading.  Listening to Gaiman read his own work is a treat.  I’m also 2/3 of the way through The Rose Project, which is really charming and delightful.  

Recipe:  This week, to motivate my kids to try the new recipe, I decided to throw dessert into the bargain.  I modified Joy the Baker’s latest blondie recipe to use  what I had on hand.  Then I attempted a non-recipe idea from an episode of Restaurant Impossible based in my hometown, and both were big winners.  The rolls I meant to make last week just didn’t happen, because the soup they were supposed to be paired with turned out terribly.

Coming up this week: 

Project: I think I’m going to make one more of the reversible cowls for myself, in green and navy to wear Superbowl Sunday.  Go Hawks!
Book:  I’ll finish The Rosie Project, and then I think I’ll take on The Magicians.  For an audiobook, I just checked out  Where’d You Go, Bernadette. 
Recipe:  Orange Chicken Stir Fry

If you’ve set goals for the year, especially a 52 goal, I’d love to hear bout it. For updates on my projects as they happen, you can check me out on Instagram.

Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

