Welcome, 2014. Come on in.

Standard

I am so happy to welcome this new year.  I love the opportunity it provides to reassess where we’ve been and where we want to go.  I’ve been eagarly writing lists and making plans for this year, but first, let me explain where this started.  This can also be found on my ‘about’ page.   

In 2013, I decided to complete 52 handmade projects by year’s end, then added to that a goal to read 52 books.  It has been one of the best things I’ve done for myself in a long time. 2013 ended up being harder than I expected.  My projects, and my reading, shined a light in times of sadness and disappointment, giving me ways to cope with those feelings productively.

In 2014, I want to take my goals a step further.  I don’t want it to be just a way to cope, but a way to grow.  I want my efforts to take me further, make me better than I have been.  Projects should help to increase skills.  Books should do more than provide escapism (though, that’s okay sometimes).  I hope to take that little glimmer that kept me going in the sad times, and let these goals be a mirror that will multiply that light.

Leave a Reply

